As the Marvel Cinematic Universe expands into television with WandaVision, franchise producer Kevin Feige says some Disney+ series expand the studio and others are developed with several seasons in mind. WandaVision, Marvel Studios’ first original series, could be unique in that it builds on MCU’s future films, with Wanda Maximoff (Elizabeth Olsen) as Doctor Strange in Multiverse Madness and Monica Rambo (Teyona Parris) in Captain Marvel 2. The derivative of Captain America, The Falcon and the Winter Soldier, which aired in March, may return for a second season, but with a different title to reflect the updated superhero names of Falcon (Anthony Mackie) and Winter Soldier (Sebastian Stan).

Asked about Marvel Studios’ approach to television and whether the 11-series the studio is announcing will be focused on a typical TV model, one season a year, Feige responded to Variety : That will change and that will change as we go [further].

There are a number of programs that allow us to dive deeper into our history and then move on to reporting. We’ve already announced that Lizzie Olsen is part of Doctor Strange 2, we’ve announced that Teyona Parris is part of Captain Marvel 2, Feige said. It seems that while they are still connected, they will be built with multiple seasons in mind. So I think big television is going to change in many ways now.

Feige continued, whether it was a few years between seasons of Game of Thrones or Stranger Things, or a few scenes like in Queen’s Gambit. One of the great things about streaming is that the rules are free and you can just follow creative wherever you want.

For the first time, the film and television sides of the MCU will share stories and characters as they transition from one format to the other. Characters from movies will be featured in Disney+ shows, including Loki (Tom Hiddleston) and Hawkeye (Jeremy Renner), while newcomers like Ms. Hiddleston and Ms. Hiddleston will be featured in Disney+ shows. Marvel (Iman Vellani) will make her television debut before making her big screen debut.

These episodes will overlap a lot with the movies. It’s a whole new form of storytelling to explore and play, Feige told Variety about the studio’s film series. This is Marvel Studios’ first long story – there are six episodes, eight episodes, ten episodes with movie actors playing their characters. They will change, evolve, grow in this series of events, and these changes will then be reflected in their next film screenings.

The Marvel Studios series following WandaVision includes Falcon and the Winter Soldier (March 19), Loki (May), the animated film What If? (summer), Ms. Marvel (late 2021) and Hawkeye (late 2021).

Featuring Elizabeth Olsen, Paul Bettany, Kathryn Hahn, Teyona Parris, Kat Dennings and Randall Park, new episodes of Marvel’s WandaVision premiere Friday on Disney+.

If you haven’t signed up for Disney+ yet, try here. Pay attention: If you buy any of the great, independently selected products here, we may receive a small commission from the retailer. Thank you for your support.

mcu phase 4mcu release orderwatch avengers in order

You May Also Like

10 Underrated 1980s Monster Movies

Creative movies, monster movies, or any other kind of movie, are the…

2 Unhappy Stars Memphis Needs to Trade For

The Memphis Grizzlies are currently in 3rd place in the Western Conference…

Downton Abbey 2 Is Coming to Movie Theaters This Christmas

Focus Features has officially announced Downton Abbey 2 with the return of…

NYC Mayoral Debate Live Updates: Eric Adams vs. Curtis Sliwa

With the New York City mayoral elections just a few months away,…